Sacred Heart Major Seminary has sought and obtained regional accreditation to make certain, through outside objective evaluation, that it is conducting undergraduate and graduate programs that meet the standards of similar institutions of higher learning in the United States. With an eminently qualified faculty and staff, with policies and programs recognized as fulfilling its objectives as an educational institution, and with continuous changes to reflect the current needs of students, SHMS continues to be recognized as a leading educational facility.

Sacred Heart Major Seminary's course of study was approved by the State of Michigan, Department of Public Instruction, on March 9, 1931, and by the Michigan Commission of College Accreditation in 1955. The seminary course of study conforms to the regulations for the training of veterans and children of veterans under Chapter 35 or Chapter 36, Title 38, United States Code.

Sacred Heart Major Seminary has enjoyed continuous accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission since 1960 (renewed in 1964, 1974, 1984, 1994, 2004, 2014). In March 2018, the Higher Learning Commission voted to continue the seminary's accredited status.

The seminary's affiliation status was changed in 1988 and accreditation was extended to include the School of Theology, which was established in that year. The School of Theology degree programs were accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in June 1991 and renewed in 1996 and 2004. In June 2014, ATS reaffirmed accreditation. 

The seminary course of undergraduate study was endorsed by the National Conference of Catholic Bishops in 1975 and favorably reviewed by the Visitation Team of the Holy See's Congregation for Seminaries and Institutes of Study in February 1987. The graduate program was favorably reviewed by the Congregation for Seminaries and Institutes of Study in 1988 and endorsed by the National Conference of Catholic Bishops in 1996.

Anyone wishing to review accreditation documents may do so by using the Contact Us Form.

Offices of the Higher Learning Commission:

230 S. LaSalle St., Ste. 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604, (800) 621-7440

The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools:

10 Summit Park Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15275, (410) 788-6505

[1]Source: 2012 Alumni Institutional Survey, based on a total of 68 respondents (9% response rate).

© 2024 Sacred Heart Major Seminary
All rights reserved