The Commuter Student Council is an advocacy group for all commuter students at SHMS. The Dean of the Institute for Lay Ministry annually appoints students to the offices of president and secretary and as representatives of the undergraduate and graduate populations.  CSC meetings are scheduled three times per year, in September, December, and March (preceding the CSLC and Board of Trustees meetings). Any commuter student is welcome to attend these meetings. Minutes are published in the Commuter Student Lounge.

The following SHMS commuter students served on the 2016-2017 CSC’s leadership team:

President: Theresa Peters

Secretary: Stacy Jones Brown

Undergraduate Representatives: Jose Mattei and Clarisa Piecuch

Graduate Representatives: Siohban Dolan and Matthew Hunt

Please contact the student representatives if you wish to bring any concerns to the attention of the Council or would like to nominate someone for service on the CSC. Results from the CSC meetings are to be communicated to the Commuter Student Life Committee (CSLC), chaired by a member of the Board of Trustees. The findings of the CSLC are then presented by the CSLC Chair to the rest of the Board of Trustees in the form of a Commuter Student Life report.

If you are interested in serving on the CSC, please contact the Institute for Lay Ministry at 313-883-8541.

Commuter students are encouraged to share questions, ideas, feedback or concerns to council members via our Contact Us Form.